For the first time ever, The Neustadt Collection of Tiffany Glass will offer unique opportunities to experience Tiffany glass through exclusive, behind-the-scenes tours of its renowned Tiffany Glass Archive and conservation studio in Long Island City, starting December 21, 2018 and continuing bi-monthly.
The Neustadt is a Queens-based nonprofit founded by Dr. Egon Neustadt, an early Tiffany collector who amassed the largest and most important collection of Tiffany lamps ever assembled. Louis Comfort Tiffany (1848-1933), one of America’s most acclaimed artists, revolutionized the art of stained glass at the turn of the 20th century. Tiffany introduced a bold new aesthetic with the manufacture of opalescent glass in an endless array of rich colors, patterns, and textures at Tiffany’s now-closed furnaces in Corona, Queens.
Generally, the only way to experience The Neustadt’s Tiffany collection in New York City is at exhibitions displayed in The Neustadt Gallery at the Queens Museum. The new twice-monthly tours of The Neustadt’s Tiffany Glass Archive are open to groups of up to six guests. On these intimate, curator-led tours, guests will:
- explore aisles of wooden cubbies that store more than 250,000 pieces of original Tiffany glass in a multitude of colors, patterns, and textures
- discover the secrets behind Tiffany’s groundbreaking innovations in glassmaking
- learn about Tiffany’s revolutionary contributions to the history of stained glass and mosaics.
- experience the glass as Tiffany’s artisans did, through an interactive “touch table” and lighting demonstrations.
The Neustadt is located in Long Island City, NY. Dates of upcoming tours are available online at www.theneustadt.org and advance registration is required. The cost is $100 per person with special rates offered to nonprofits. Tours may be booked through Eventbrite.